Franklin is situated at the junction of the Pemigewassett and Winnipesaukee Rivers and the town was originally known as Pemigewassett Village. It was taken from portions of Salisbury, Andover, Sanbornton and Northfield. The name Franklin was adopted in 1820 in honor of Benjamin Franklin, and the town was incorporated as a city in 1895.
The City of Franklin is a community steeped in the historic roots of New Hampshire. The City’s strong civic-mindedness, and its dedication to community service, is founded in the Family Homestead and farm of Daniel Webster, one of New Hampshire’s and America’s great statesmen.
Running through the middle of Old Hill Village is a brook that once powered a saw mill and a grist mill. Is was this brook that was once used to generate electric power for the village. The Franklin Falls Dam is also here for your journey with views and canoe and kayaking adventure!
Still standing in many places today are stately trees that lined the main street of Old Hill Village long ago. The Upside Down Covered Bridge is a very cool attraction for all who love the bridges of old. It is called an upside down covered bridge because the rail traffic traveled over the top rather then running through the bridges center. It is truly a place of historical enchantment for those who love to explore the landscapes of New Hampshire’s rich history.